Agar-agar is a natural vegetable gelatin. It can be used to make jellies, pudding, and custard. Agar has many culinary and scientific uses. Since it is a natural product extracted from seaweed it can be used to make vegetarian desserts and glazes for other foods. For making jelly, it is boiled in water until the solids dissolve. Sweetener, flavoring, coloring, fruit or vegetables are then added and the liquid is poured into mold to be served as desserts and vegetable aspics, or incorporated with other desserts, such as a jelly layer in a cake.